Skip to main content

Assemblymember Rodriguez Celebrates Educators of the Year from Across the 52nd Assembly District

For immediate release:

Assemblymember Rodriguez Celebrates Educators of the Year from Across the 52nd Assembly District

(Sacramento, CA) – Last night, Assemblymember Freddie Rodriguez (D – Pomona) honored Educators of the Year from across the 52nd Assembly District. Devoted teachers from six total school districts were recognized for their commitment to their students. 

"It is so special to celebrate educators across the 52nd Assembly District who have dedicated their lives to their students. Seeing how these honorees light up when talking about their students shows how rewarding it is for them to help shape our future leaders daily. Congratulations to all of this year's honorees," stated Assemblymember Rodriguez.

The 2022 Educator of the Year from Ontario-Montclair Unified School District is Mr. Kevin Stott. Stott has taught at De Anza Middle School for 33 years and is the first to teach high school credit courses to 8th-grade students. 

Ms. Lizabeth Haraksin was recognized as Mountain View School District's 2022 Educator of the Year. Haraksin has been teaching in the school district for 34 years and is currently teaching at Ranch View Elementary School. 

Last month, the 2018 Lemelson-MIT InvenTeam from Garey High School of Pomona Unified celebrated receiving a U.S. patent for their invention of a device allowing individuals with diabetes to self-monitor foot health. This team was led by Mr. Antonio Gamboa and Mr. Alexander Ruper, who are both recognized as Pomona Unified's 2022 Educators of the Year. 

Chino Valley Unified School District nominated Ms. Kris Ives as their 2022 Educator of the Year. Ives began working for Chino Valley Unified in 1990 and currently works as an Instructional Coach for the district supporting not only students but also teachers.

This year's Educator of the Year from Fontana Unified School District is Ms. Nicole Lozano of Almond Elementary School. Lozano goes above and beyond to support those around her by providing groceries to families, supplying clothing to scholars, and coordinating meals for families and colleagues who have lost a loved one. 

Finally, Ms. Megha Huber of Colony High School was honored as the Educator of the Year from Chaffey Joint Union High School District. Huber has spearheaded efforts to revitalize and align the school's math curriculum to the mathematical practice standards by engaging students in critical thinking and problem-solving. 

Assemblymember Rodriguez (Twitter) represents the 53rd Assembly District which includes the cities of Chino, Montclair, Ontario, Pomona, and Upland. He is Chair of the Assembly Committee on Emergency Management.