Skip to main content

Assemblymember Rodriguez is Elected Vice Chair of the California Seismic Safety Commission

For immediate release:

(Sacramento, CA) – Today, Assemblymember Freddie Rodriguez (D – Pomona), Chair of the Assembly Committee on Emergency Management, was elected Vice Chair of the Alfred E. Alquist Seismic Safety Commission (SSC). He has made the following remarks:

“I am humbled and honored to be elected as Vice Chair of the Seismic Safety Commission during my first meeting as a member. As a career EMT, I have vast experience responding to earthquakes and have been fighting hard in the Legislature to improve our preparedness efforts before the next major earthquake strikes. I am grateful to my colleagues on the SSC for trusting me to serve as their Vice Chair and look forward to working together to increase the state’s seismic safety.

When I reflect on my time responding to major earthquakes, such as the 1994 Northridge earthquake, I see the loss of life and infrastructure that could have been prevented. My experiences have guided me when creating policy to ensure that our infrastructure will withstand a major earthquake and ultimately protect our most vulnerable populations.

Last year, I obtained $250 million in the 2023-24 State Budget to establish and implement the Seismic Retrofitting Program for Soft Story Multifamily Homes. As we are facing a deficit this year, the program has been proposed to be cut. However, I introduced AB 1505 this year to ensure the program is funded so that we can protect these vulnerable populations.

Thank you again to my colleagues for electing me as Vice Chair of the SSC. I know that my unique set of experiences serving as a first responder and now as a Legislator fighting for policies to increase our seismic safety will enable me to continue to serve as a champion in this new capacity.”

Assemblymember Rodriguez (Twitter) represents the 53rd Assembly District which includes the cities of Chino, Montclair, Ontario, Pomona, and Upland. He is Chair of the Assembly Committee on Emergency Management.